1930-1939 PGA Championships

In 1933, Sarazen won his third and last PGA, beating Willie Goggin, 5 and 4.

After Sarazen’s win in 1933, Paul Runyan followed in 1934 with a 1-up decision over his former employer, Craig Wood, in a 38-hole finale.

Denny Shute won consecutive PGA Championships in 1936-37, a feat that lasted until 2000. Shute avenged his 1931 disappointment, defeating Jimmy Thomson, 3 and 2, in 1936 and returned the following year to edge Harold “Jug” McSpaden on the 37th hole.

In 1938, Runyan’s second title, an 8-and-7 conquest of Sam Snead, was the most one-sided victory in PGA match-play history. Henry Picard triumphed in 1939, edging Byron Nelson with a birdie on the 37th hole.

Exhibit Tour