1920-1929 PGA Championships

In 1920, Hutchison avenged his defeat, becoming the last internationally born winner for a decade. He defeated Douglas Edgar, 1-up.

With the “Roaring Twenties” in full stride, the next nine PGA Championships were won by three different players: Walter Hagen, Gene Sarazen and Leo Diegel.

In 1921, Hagen, one of The PGA’s original founders, captured his first PGA Championship to begin an era of domination, which left many observers believing that he owned the event. Hagen went on to win five PGA Championships, making the finals six times, and winning four Championships in a row between 1924-1927. During the streak, the “Haig” won 22 consecutive matches before Leo Diegel won the title in 1928.

Exhibit Tour